← Back to all research
CYBER LAW & DIGITAL RIGHTS · SEMESTER 1 · MA IT LAW

Competing Claims over Ghana.com: A UDRP Determination Involving the State of Ghana

Coursework written during my MA in Information Technology Law at the University of Ghana, 2025–2026. Presented as an academic working paper, not a peer-reviewed publication or current legal advice. Original language and arguments retained.

Introduction

Ghana’s Government has initiated proceedings under the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) against Ghana.com Ltd, seeking recovery of the domain name ghana.com. As a panel adjudicator, I summarise the arguments advanced by counsel for both parties and assess the dispute in light of the UDRP’s three cumulative requirements. I then determine whether the Complainant has established entitlement to the transfer of the disputed domain name.

Summary of Complainant’s Arguments

Counsel for the Complainant argues that Ghana is a protected sovereign designation. Relying on the Wembley18 and Australian Stock Exchange19 decisions, they submit that the State has acquired common law rights through its longstanding international reputation. They contend that the domain name is confusingly similar, as the public would naturally expect a country name to correspond with an official governmental source20. The Complainant further maintains that the Respondent lacks a legitimate interest, since commercial use of a State’s name for tourism does not constitute a bona fide offering21. Finally, they allege bad faith, arguing that the Respondent exploits public confusion for commercial gain while preventing the State from accurately representing its identity online.22

Summary of Respondent’s Arguments

Counsel for the Respondent contends that Ghana is fundamentally a geographic description rather than an exclusive identifier of the State. Relying on the reasoning in the Barcelona decision, they argue that a sovereign country does not possess automatic ownership over its geographic name23. The Respondent further claims a legitimate interest based on its continuous operation of a tourism platform linked to the domain name for over thirty years24. Referring to the Junta de Andalucía decision, counsel submits that the use of a geographic domain to provide information about a particular region amounts to permissible descriptive use25. On this basis, they deny bad faith, maintaining that the registration was intended to promote tourism rather than take unfair advantage of the Complainant’s reputation26.

Determination

This Panel must determine whether the Respondent’s use of ghana.com constitutes abusive conduct under paragraph 4(a) of the UDRP, which requires the Complainant to establish three cumulative elements: confusing similarity to a mark in which it has rights, absence of the Respondent’s legitimate interests, and registration and use in bad faith.27

With respect to the first requirement, the disputed domain name is identical to the Complainant’s sovereign name. Although the Government does not hold a registered trademark, it may rely on common law rights arising from its longstanding international recognition.28

The Complainant, however, does not satisfy the remaining elements. The Respondent has established a legitimate interest under paragraph 4(c)(i) by operating a tourism-related platform connected to the domain name for over thirty years.29 In line with Junta de Andalucía, the commercial use of a geographic term for regional promotion constitutes permissible descriptive use and is distinguishable from the exploitative conduct identified in Madonna.30 Further, bad faith has not been demonstrated, as there is no evidence of conduct intended to block the Complainant or disrupt its activities.31 Accordingly, the request for transfer is denied.

Conclusion

The dispute highlights broader policy gaps in the governance of geographic domain names. Beyond this decision, Ghana may consider establishing clearer national rules for managing its country-code domains, alongside diplomatic and cooperative measures, to better protect state interests while respecting established commercial use.

Source notes

  1. Wembley National Stadium Limited v Bob Thomson (aka Wembleystadium.net) (WIPO Case No D2000-1233) https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html/2000/d2000-1233.html accessed 17 January 2026.
  2. Australian Stock Exchange Limited and ASX Operations Pty Limited vpresen ommunity Internet (Australia) Pty Ltd (WIPO Case No D2000-1384) https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html2000accu/d2000-1384.html accessed 17 January 2026.
  3. Excelentisimo Ayuntamiento de Barcelona v Barcelona.com Inc (WIPO Case No D2000-0505) https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html/2000/d2000-0505.html accessed 17 January 2026.
  4. Madonna Ciccone, p/k/a Madonna v Dan Parisi and "Madonna.com" (WIPO Case No D2000-0847) https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html/2000/d2000-0847.html accessed 17 January 2026.
  5. Australian Stock Exchange Limited (n 2); Wembley National Stadium Limited (n 1).
  6. Excelentisimo Ayuntamiento de Barcelona v Barcelona.com Inc (WIPO Case No D2000-0505) https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html/2000/d2000-0505.html accessed 17 January 2026.
  7. ICANN, ‘Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy’ (24 October 1999) para 4(c)(i) https://archive.icann.org/en/udrp/udrp-policy-24oct99.htm accessed 17 January 2026.
  8. Junta de Andalucia Consejeria de Turismo, Comercio y Deporte, Turismo Andaluz, S.A. v Andalucia.Com Limited (WIPO Case No D2006-0749) https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/search/en/details.jsp?id=6965 accessed 17 January 2026.
  9. ibid.
  10. 10. ICANN, ‘Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy’ (24 October 1999) para 4(a) https://archive.icann.org/en/udrp/udrp-policy-24oct99.htm accessed 17 January 2026.
  11. Wembley National Stadium Limited v Bob Thomson (aka Wembleystadium.net) (WIPO Case No D2000-1233) para 4.5; Australian Stock Exchange Limited and ASX Operations Pty Limited v Community Internet (Australia) Pty Ltd (WIPO Case No D2000-1384) para 6.1.
  12. ICANN (n 10) para 4(c)(i).
  13. Junta de Andalucia Consejeria de Turismo, Comercio y Deporte, Turismo Andaluz, S.A. v Andalucia.Com Limited (WIPO Case No D2006-0749) para 6.B; Madonna Ciccone, p/k/a Madonna v Dan Parisi and "Madonna.com" (WIPO Case No D2000-0847) para 6.C.
  14. Australian Stock Exchange Limited (n 11) para 6.7; Junta de Andalucia (n 13) para 7.
Explore more writing ↗